Showing 1-5 of 5 items.

THR the implementation of lustration policies in post-communist European states.

Lustration is a policy which involves the systematic removal and political exclusion, often without trial, of officials at all levels of the political system associated with former regimes and their political parties, e.g. officials associated with the communist parties in Central and Eastern Europe post-Soviet collapse.

This House Regrets the EU expansion since 2004.

In 2004, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia became members of the EU, making it the largest single expansion of the EU. In 2007, Romania and Bulgaria joined, and in 2013, Croatia also became a member.

THR Two-Speed Europe

The concept of Two-Speed Europe has been recently revived by A. Merkel and E. Macron. It allows for the core countries to continue future integration within and cooperation finance, tax and security, leaving a peripheral group to continue in a looser federation. This includes but is not limited to: Schengen area integration, home affair and justice policies designed to ensure security, rights and free movement within the EU, more integration within the Eurozone, adoption of the Euro or abiding and implementing centralised rules for credit institution.

This House Supports the Rise of Left-Wing Populism in Europe

Jesse Klaver, leader of GroenLinks in the Netherlands: “I used to want to become a millionaire, now I’ve understood that we need to start the revolution before it breaks out” Emmanuel Macron, leader of En Marche! In France: “If to be a populist means speaking to people in a comprehensible way… then I want to be a populist”

TH, as the heir to any European throne, would refuse to become a monarch